A Kiss to Remember

A kiss is a lovely trick designed by nature to stop speech when words become superfluous. ~Ingrid Bergman


Do you remember your first kiss? I do. For as long as I live I’ll never forget the first time I kissed her. Christal Alexander. The first woman I ever loved.

I was probably 12 or 13 at the time and she was my first official girlfriend. We’d been dating for a few weeks but had never done anything more than hug or hold hands. I was a very awkward boy at the time and since that was my first experience with a girl I wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself. School was out for the summer and VBS (Vacation Bible School) was in session. That Friday’s “class” was coming to a close so we ran off to the upstairs balcony of the church to get some privacy before we had to part ways. I don’t remember what we talked about, probably because everything that happened that day was eclipsed by the events that were about to transpire. It came time for us to leave (I suspected my mother was looking for me), and I started down the step. She held on to my hand so I couldn’t take a step further. I turned and looked into her eyes waiting for her to say something but she never did. Instead she pulled me back so that I was on the step just below hers, which brought us to eye level. She released my hand and gently put her arms around my neck and in response I wrapped my arms around her waist. She smiled and slowly moved her face closer to mine. On instinct I did the same. Those seconds that passed, while our lips were coming closer to each other, felt like an eternity. My palms were sweaty and my heart was going a million miles a minute.

In the moment our lips touched, an entirely new world opened up to me. My senses came alive like never before. Time crawled to a stop, or rather we were frozen in that moment while everything else whizzed on around us. My entire body tingled; it was like electricity was surging through it and the only thing keeping me grounded was the fact that her lips were connected to mine. She tasted sweet, like nothing I’d ever had the pleasure of sampling before. It was the most freeing feeling in the world. It felt like I’d become weightless and was floating on a cloud.

And then just like that, the moment (well that particular moment anyway) was over. We parted and went about our separate ways until we would see each other again. For the rest of the day that kiss was all I could think about. I remember getting home and collapsing on my bed and replaying the event in my head, and every time I did this euphoric feeling would just wash over me. I’d get goosebumps (why are they called goosebumps anyway?), float away to cloud nine and I’d be nothing but smiles. In the days following, I’d replay the memory just for the sensation like I was some psychological drug addict. Even thinking about it now, I can still grasp a bit of that feeling from so long ago.

What was your first kiss like?

@TheKrayze1

12 responses to “A Kiss to Remember

  1. That is so sweet and romantic ahh to be 13 again *sighs* You’ve gone and made me remember my first kiss and slow dance. How deep is your Love by the BeeGees was playing. Steve Bennett you were my first kiss…
    Love this article James!
    Beautiful as always. ~Diva

  2. as a good pastor’s daughter, my first kiss was with the resident bad boy. it was after 2pm on a Friday afternoon and the door was locked and the lights were off on the third floor stairwell (God bless Adventist schools and ending their classes on noon on Fridays!). He was standing above me, and he pulled me to him to kiss him. Its the only good memory I have of him, but its a REALLY good memory…

  3. Mine was quick. I wasn’t expecting it, but we’re on a bus coming back from a school function. I was 12 and she was 14. I’d spent the entire two hour trip flirting with this other girl when the 14 year old grabbed my head, spun me around and gave me a quick two or three second kiss. I was so stunned at the time that I ignored the sharp pain in my neck from the awkward kiss. As 12 year old, I thought I was a mack.

    • We all think we’re macks when we’re that age, especially if you’re popular with the ladies. I didn’t come out of my shell until this experience, and it was a wrap after that. No one could tell me I didn’t have game lol.

      • Right! I thought I had game, too. I had to holla at ol’ girl, but she wasn’t having it. I don’t know if she kissed me as a dare or what, but it took years before she finally gave in.

      • When I was that age I was always going after the girl that were out of my league. They were either in a higher grade or too good looking or both. I still tend to go after older women, except now I succeed. Lol

        Sent from my iPhone

  4. There is so much magic in that first kiss. You captured it well. I was 12 and at a friends birthday party. A guy showed up that I thought was adorable and low & behold he felt the same way about me. We talked during the party, ignoring the childish taunts of our friends, until he pulled me to the side of the shed away from their prying eyes, took my face in his hands and kissed me softly. I remember smiling at him and then he took my hand (didn’t let it go for the rest of the party). He announced to everyone that I was his girlfriend (I don’t remember being asked but I didn’t care). We “dated” if you can call it that at such a young age for about 5 months. Oh, Kevin, I wonder what ever happened to him.

Leave a Reply

